As of April 1, 2017, we have two current and upcoming submission opportunities for writers of prose and poetry, artists, and translators.

1. The 2017 Fairy Tale Review Awards ($10): April 1, 2017 to July 15, 2017

2. Submissions to Fairy Tale Review‘s digital platform (free): April 1, 2017 until we decide to close

Please look below for details about our universal submission guidelines, plus additional rules for each category.

--

We ask that all writers who would like to submit to Fairy Tale Review adhere to these guidelines.

  • All work must be previously unpublished.
  • Simultaneous submissions are welcome; please note as such in your cover letter, and withdraw the submission immediately if accepted elsewhere. Withdrawals should be done through Submittable. If you submitted a packet of poems and must withdraw only one but would like the rest to remain under consideration, send us an email at ftreditorial@gmail.com.
  • Only one submission per genre during any reading period (except contests, with multiple contest fees). For example: You may submit one piece of prose and one packet of poems, but not two pieces of prose, within a single reading period. Additional submissions will be returned unread.
  • If you were published in the most recent print issue, please wait one year after publication of the issue to submit again; you are still welcome to submit to our contest or to the digital platform.

We hope to respond to submissions within 3 months, except for contest submissions, which take longer due to contest judging.

The 2017 Fairy Tale Review Awards

As with the rest of The Charcoal Issue, we're looking for work that broadly approaches themes of resistance and protest. The subject and nature of the resistance/protest is entirely up to you, and we're giving a good deal of flexibility in how writers approach that topic.

Helen Oyeyemi will serve as the prose judge, and Aimee Nezhukumatathil will serve as the poetry judge.

Please read our contest guidelines before submitting.

Fairy Tale Review Digital

Starting in April 2017, we'll be publishing original prose and poetry on our site on a weekly basis.

Our digital platform will be unthemed until we state otherwise, so simply send us your best fairy tales.

--

We'll continue to accept both artwork and translation submissions year-round, in addition to submissions for Tiny Donkey.
This category is for submissions to our digital platform. Accepted work will be published on our website on a weekly basis.

This category is for any kind of prose, whether that be fiction, non-fiction, or a genre hybrid.

Please submit up to 3,000 words of a single prose piece for our consideration, or up to three flash pieces of prose each under 1,000 words. 

Manuscripts should be double-spaced, paginated, and in 12 pt. font unless the form of the piece dictates otherwise.

We consider fiction, nonfiction, and drama along with scholarly, illustrated, and hybrid works. If your piece is a prose/poetry hybrid, please submit to your preferred category—we like to let authors make that determination.
This category is for submissions to our digital platform. Accepted work will be published on our website on a weekly basis.

Submit up to five poems, totaling no more than 10 pages. Query about longer or unusual projects that fit outside these guidelines.

If your piece is a prose/poetry hybrid, please submit to your preferred category—we like to let authors make that determination.
Ends on July 15, 2017$10.00
$10.00
Submit up to 5 poems that do not exceed 10 pages in total length. Please query before submitting anything outside these guidelines. Please remove any identifying information from the manuscript.

Aimee Nezhukumatathil will serve as final poetry judge for the contest. Those with a personal or professional connection to the judge should not submit due to potential conflict of interest. Queries about what constitutes a connection with potential conflict of interest can be directed to ftreditorial@gmail.com.

We expect to announce our winners and finalists by the end of September.

All submissions must be previously unpublished. Multiple entries to the contest are fine, but a separate contest fee must be paid each time. Please note that if you send work to general submissions, you are also welcome to submit to the contest. Also, contributors to our most recent issues are welcome to submit to the contest, despite our request to not submit to the general submissions.

Full contest guidelines, plus a FAQ, can be found at http://fairytalereview.com/submit/contests/.
Ends on July 15, 2017$10.00
$10.00
Please submit up to 6,000 words of a single prose piece for our consideration, or up to three flash pieces of prose each under 1,000 words. Manuscripts should be double-spaced, paginated, and in 12 pt. font unless the form of the piece dictates otherwise. We consider fiction, nonfiction, and drama along with scholarly, illustrated, and hybrid works. Please remove any identifying information from the manuscript.

Helen Oyeyemi will serve as final prose judge for the contest. Those with a personal or professional connection to the judge should not submit due to potential conflict of interest. Queries about what constitutes a connection with potential conflict of interest can be directed to ftreditorial@gmail.com.

We expect to announce our winners and finalists by the end of September.

All submissions must be previously unpublished. Multiple entries to the contest are fine, but a separate contest fee must be paid each time. Please note that if you send work to general submissions, you are also welcome to submit to the contest. Also, contributors to our most recent issues are welcome to submit to the contest, despite our request to not submit to the general submissions.

Full contest guidelines, plus a FAQ, can be found at http://fairytalereview.com/submit/contests/.
Please submit up to 10 pieces of any original artwork, illustrated text, and graphic work (comics, black-line drawings, etc.) here. Artwork must be in high-resolution (300 dpi or higher) to be considered.

Artwork is considered for either print or online publication. If you have serious qualms with your work being in one of the two mediums, let us know in the cover letter, but print-only submissions will likely result in much longer response times.
As of mid-November 2015, we are accepting works of translation year-round. Works accepted will be published as soon as possible, depending on production schedules; for example, works accepted late in 2015 may not appear in print until the 2017 issue.

We are primarily interesting in works translated from any language into English, although we maintain a certain curiosity in works translated into Spanish as well.

Please provide proof of permission to translate and/or indicate public domain material. Submit up to 8,000 words of a single prose piece for our consideration, or up to linked three flash pieces of prose each under 1,000 words, or 3-5 poems totaling no more than 10 pages. For prose, manuscripts should be double-spaced, paginated, and in 12 pt. font unless the form of the piece dictates otherwise. For poetry, format can be dictated by the work in question.

Works that are not clearly stated as translations (either in the cover letter or in the body of the attached document), with the aforementioned permission/public domain indication, will be returned unread.

Query to ftreditorial@gmail.com about longer or unusual projects that fit outside these guidelines. 

Simultaneous submissions are fine provided you notify us as soon as possible if the work has been accepted elsewhere—withdraw the piece here on Submittable or, in the case of a packet with multiple pieces, send an email to ftreditorial@gmail.com stating which piece(s) have been accepted and should be withdrawn from consideration. Please see complete guidelines on our website for more information.

Tiny Donkey was created by Wren Awry during her time as an undergraduate editorial assistant with Fairy Tale ReviewWe see Tiny Donkey as a compliment to Fairy Tale Review, with similar goals but different means of accomplishing them. Tiny Donkey is not Fairy Tale Review's blog; rather, it is an independently-operated literary journal devoted to fairy tales in essay form. For the time being, Fairy Tale Review acts as a patron to help facilitate Tiny Donkey's growth.

For more information, visit http://tinydonkey.fairytalereview.com/about/.

#

Tiny Donkey publishes short essays (up to 400 words in length) that explore fairy tales through scholarly, personal and cultural lenses. Tiny Donkey has a strong focus on original thought and dexterous, polished writing.

You can write Tiny Donkey essays from a lot of different angles (our first three posts include a piece that analyzes a film in relation to Bluebeard, one that ties in wolf re-introduction in New Mexico to wolf tropes in fairy tales, and a personal essay about hollow mountains, Jack Tales and the coal industry in Appalachia). You might come up with an entirely new idea, or turn a class paper in to a polished micro-essay. We’re open to challenging and unique form and content, just get in touch!